Friday, 22 August 2014


Takoma 1959

01. West Coast Blues
02. St. Louis Blues
03. I'm a Poor Boy a Long Ways From Home
04. Uncloudy Day
05. John Henry
06. In Christ There Is No East Or West
07. The Trancendental Waterfall
08. Desperate Man Blues
09. Sun Gonna Shine In My Back Door Someday Blues
10. Sligo River Blues
11. On Doing An Evil Deed Blues

The story of Blind Joe Death is a great one. 100 copies were pressed and Fahey himself would slot them into the racks of record stores. Blind Joe Death was supposed to be an old undiscovered blues talent, his guitar was made out of a baby's coffin. It was just a pseudenom for Fahey, trying to sell more records.

Two more attempts were made of this album in 1964 and 1967. Fahey re-recorded, re-ordered and replaced over those versions.

Takoma released a nice compilation of the various versions of these tracks, but omitted some.

Here's the 1959 version in full.


Anonymous said...

Unknown said...

awesome thanks to all. my first Fahey was the self titled 1967 with the weird stuff going on, borrowed from the library. i later had that vinyl as well as Voice of the Turtle LP and Transfiguration of BJD.