Saturday, 26 September 2015


Epic 1971

01. I Am a Child
02. Song for Sinking Shelters
03. Warm You Are
04. All the Good Things
05. Enturbulation/Free Form
06. Arizona Sands
07. Rosanna of the Roses
08. Can I Trade With You My Mind?

Haven't had any ultra rare psych folk in a while, so here's Subway and their eponymous L.P.

The duo consists of singer songwriter Irv Mowrey and multi instrumentalist Malcolm Watson. The Brit and the American released their only album on Epic in France. 200 copies were pressed and what didn't sell was destroyed.

It's a shame the band didn't get more recognition, there is a lot of good stuff here. It's psych folk, but it's the interesting composition and arrangements, plus the instrumentation that make it worth seeking out.

The L.P. grows more elaborate as it goes on, adding percussion and synth to the guitar/violin/vocal based songs. By the time we're at 'Enturbulation/Free Form', things are really starting to psych out, there's even a touch of prog.

If you like ISB, Spirogyra, Vashti Bunyan etc. it's worth checking out.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...