Monday, 12 November 2012


Wah Wah Records Sound 2009 (Recorded 1968)

01. Agilok And Blubbo
02. Es Zieht Herauf
03. Dialog Zwischen Birken
04. Michele Ist Da                                                   
05. Mama Mama
06. Kamerasong
07. Zwischen Den Bäumen
08. Zweige Und Sonne
09. Revolutionslied
10. Der Letzte Brief
11. Probleme
12. Flop Pop
13. Apokalypse

Agilok & Blubbo is a political satire released in 1969, directed by Peter F. Scheneider. Irmin Schmidt was approached for the soundtrack. Fresh from a trip to America, Schmidt has recently decided that his musical future lay in experimental rock music, and not in avant garde classical which he had spent years studying. He assembled a group, The Inner Space, which featured himself, Holger Czukay, Jaki Liebezeit and Michael Karoli. Also included at this time was David Johnson and, as guest vocalist, Rosy Rosy. (That's her on the sleeve, actress Rosemarie Heinikel in a still from the movie.)

Only a single of 'Agilok & Blubbo'/Kamerasong' was released at the time, but in 2009 the tapes of the full soundtrack have been remastered and released.

Agilock & Blubbo find the members of Can creating the musical language with which they would become so fluent in a matter of months. The very next month in fact singer Malcolm Mooney would join and sessions would begin for 'Meet Thy Pnoom' (later named 'Delay 1968').

What you have here is embryonic Can, recognisable snatches can be heard in the insistent drums and bass or in an edit here or there. Not yet the demented garage band of 'Delay' but a bunch of artists discovering a shared love of invention and innovation.

"Blow your mind and move your crutch, tie the double noose of pnoom!"


Anonymous said...

mmlmmt said...

thank you! 8^)

itslostitsfound said...

You are very welcome mmlmmt.

Anonymous said...

dead link bummer

Anonymous said...

Anonymous said...

Would love to check this out but the link is not working. Is it possible to upload again?