Sunday, 12 May 2013


Self Release 1976

01. Easy Ride
02. Journey Through The Valley Of O
03. Babylon
04. Last Flight To Eden
05. Prelude
06. Hello Sunshine
07. They Knew What To Say
08. The Persian Caravan
09. A Thousand Years

The final (?) album by Phil Pearlman and again, it's a new band and a new name. This time however, everything is just right.

Yes, this is his most commercial offering but it's rural psychedelia at it's finest and the whole thing is just really groovy. West coast vibes abound, weed smoking laying in the sun songs that just breeze by.

There is a touch of Grateful Dead and the whole canyon back to nature scene, but this is a unique and original album.

And then...nothing.

Phil Pearlman dropped in on former Beat Of The Earth member Karen Darby in 1994. Here's what she said:

"It seems he had married a wonderful woman who was totally supportive and involved in his choice of lifestyle. They had several children who were being raised on a farm/ranch east of San Diego, California. The Ranch had NO electricity, they also used a well for water. He was raising goats, which according to him he slaughtered personally and humanely whenever preparing them for market. He described to me what he thought was the most inhumane conditions in the local slaughter house techniques. He had devised a quicker, bilateral knife to the cartoids on the goat that was painless and 'humane'.

For some reason I had a hard time in visioning Phil killing anything."