Tuesday 23 October 2012


Thee Temple Ov Psychick Youth Scandinavia TOPYSCAN C 005
Private press cassette only release (1990)

01. Strawberry Alarm Clock - Curse of the Witches
02. Circus 2000 - I am the Witch
03. Southwest F.O.B. - Smell of Incense
04. Jason Crest - Black Mass
05. Macabre - Be Forewarned
06. Mystic Siva - Supernatural Mind
07. Things To Come - Speak of the Devil
08. Beautiful Daze - City Jungle Part 1
09. Music Emporium - Prelude
10. Black Widow - Come to the Sabbath
11. Bill Wendry & The Boss Tweeds - A Wristwatch Band
12. Bonniwell Music Machine - Astrologically Incompatible
13. Twink - 10,000 Words in a Cardboard Box
14. Strawberry Alarm Clock - Black Butter (Present)
15. Friday’s Keeper - Take me for a Ride
16. Gin Gillette - Train to Satanville
17. Rings And Things - Strange Things are Happening
18. Bermuda Jam - Good Trip Lollipop
19.Lea Riders Group - Dom Kallar Oss Kods
20. Bob Trimble - Armour of Shrouds
21. C.O.B. - Serpent’s Kiss
22. Marcus - The Life Game
23. The Dovers - Third Eye
24. David Santo - Rising of Scorpio
25. Kalacakra - Nearby Shiras

Ace compilation of psychedelic music with a common theme of the occult.

Thee Temple Ov Psychick Youth (or TOPY) was a fellowship founded in 1981 by members of Psychic TV, Coil, Current 93 and a number of other individuals. The network was a loosely federated group of people operating as a blend of artistic collective and practitioners of magic.

In 1990, the group privately released this strictly limited cassette, which was compiled by member Carl Abrahamsson.

This version was recently recompiled from better quality audio sources by Fearlono at Cottage of Electric Hell!


A & M Records 1970

01. Initiation
02. The Legend Of The Goddess
03. The Great Rite

"Only a witch can make a witch."

During the sixties and seventies, Alex and Maxine Sanders were the most recognisable faces in Wicca. They appeared in many magazines, on television shows and, in 1970, they made their own record.

'A Witch is Born' is an audio recording of the initiation of Janet Owen.

This is not an album that you play will play repeatedly. However, it is of interest to those who like historical audio documents and its subject matter earns it a place in this Halloween special.

Advertisement in Rolling Stone magazine.


Transparency Records & Aurora Records (1997)

Disc 1 :

01. Ra-Hide Away!
02. Love's Death
03. Die to Be One
04. No Wrong-Come Along
05. Get on Home
06. Is There No One in Your World But You?
07. First They Made Me Sleep in the Closet
08. Give Your Love (To Be Free)
09. I'll Never Say Never to Always
10. Look at Your Love
11. If I Had a Million Dollars
12. Goin' to the Church House

Disc 2 :

01. You Must Be Born Again
02. Ra-Hide Away!
03. Die to Be One
04. The Fires Are Burning
05. Give Your Love (To Be Free)
06. The Young Will Overcome
07. Going to the Church House
08. Love's Death
09. I'll Never Say Never to Always
10. Die to Be One
11. Look at Your Love
12. I Can't Remember When
13. Going to the Church House
14. I Can't Remember When (Alternate)
15. Give Your Love to Be Free
16. London Bridge Is Falling Down

This album of Charles Manson songs was recorded by The Manson Family as the 1970 murder trial was ongoing. Recorded in the Spahn Ranch saloon, some songs contain references to the unfolding events in the trial. “Get On home” contains a direct reference to the defendants carving an ‘X’ onto their foreheads :

"When you see the children with x's on their head, if you dare to look at them, soon you will be dead."

Originally a private press release as “Manson Family Sings the Songs of Charles Manson" on vinyl and limited to 999 copies.

This reissue from 1997 was released simultaneously on Transparency Records and Aurora Records and has the original album remastered on disc 1 and outtakes and alternate versions on disc 2.

Not too dissimilar from a lot of commune folk around at the time, this music contains an undeniable spook. The lo-fi recording quality, the back story and Manson’s lyrics make this an unsettling, stoned listen.