Wednesday, 27 October 2021

Dave & Toni Arthur - Hearken To The Witches Rune


Trailer 1971

01 Alison Gross
02 Tam Lin
03 A Fairy Tale
04 The Fairy Child
05 Broomfield Hill
06 The Standing Stones
07 The Cruel Mother
08 Alice Brand

Rare cult folk with a bizarre back story. Dave and Toni Arthur could be found presenting and writing songs for Play School and Play Away; two staples of BBC childrens television programming.

They had spent the last few years as a recording duo, with this album being a witchcraft folk oddity.

There are connections to Alex and Maxine Sanders (the imagery of whom can be found in certain parts of this blog) and the wiccan movement in the U.K.

The story is told far better and in depth here.

Repressed only once, in 1975.

Tuesday, 26 October 2021

Nightjrrs / Heartwood / Goatherder - De​-​Cadere


Treehouse Orchestra Recordings TOR081. 2021.

01 De-Cadere Part One
02 De-Cadere Part Two
03 De-Cadere Part Three
04 De-Cadere Part Four

More music with my own involvement. Recorded and released this month.


John Chambers - Guitars and vocals.
Andy Hopkins - Guitars and vocals.
Nicci Reed - Keyboards and vocals.


Jonathan Sharp - Buchla Music Easel Command, Soma Labs Lyra 8 and Eowave Quadrantid Swarm.


Stephen Benson - Guitars and drones.

Recorded live at Cakes and Ale, Carlisle, October 4th 2021.

Mastered by Jonathan Sharp.

Cover art by Stephen Benson.

The Proseed art group in Carlisle ran an Autumn exhibition entitled 'De-Cadere'. The exhibition opened at the Intro gallery and the after party was held at Cakes and Ale cafe. The cafe displayed selected art works and live music.

Heartwood is the slight pseudonym of The Heartwood Institute when improvising more experimental modular sets.

Nightjrrs performed music from their new album 'Interregnum'.

Heartwood joined Nightjrrs, along with Goatherder for a 45 minute improvisation to end the evening and the recording of that improvisation is presented here.

Various Artists - Halloween 2021 - Cam's Halloween Psychedelic Murder Cult Scare/Chill Vibe Mixtape


01 Joshua Warren - The Ritual Chamber (Inside the Church of Satan)
02 Donovan - Season of the Witch
03 Robert Hermel - Industrie Spatiale
04 Pete Fine - Revelations/Prelude/For Sam
05 Alessandro Alessandroni - Suor Omicidi (Killer Nun) Sequence 4
06 The Shaggs - It's Halloween
07 Strawberry Alarm Clock - Curse of the Witches
08 Paul Giovanni & Magnet - Willow's Song
09 Bobby Beausoleil - Movement The Second
10 The Manson Family - Is There No One In Your World But You?
11 Macarbre - Be Forwarned
12 Barbera, The Grey Witch - Witch's Love Song
13 Mark Fry - The Witch
14 C.A. Quintet - Trip Thru Hell (Part 2)
15 Barbera, The Grey Witch - Excerpt from 'Gray Responsibilities'

A new mixtape for Halloween, although this time it was a request. 

Good pal Camille wanted a mixtape for a Halloween party that has the commission in the title.