Monday, 29 February 2016


01. Im Calcutta
02. Upduff's Birth
03. Shikako Maru Ten
04. Kamasutra
05. Little Star of Bethlehem
06. Turtles Have Short Legs
07. Theif'
08. Kamerasong

Recently I've been having a right faff around and sort out of music. The joy of going through Can bootlegs. I decided to compile down my favourite unreleased and obscure stuff. Can heads probably have it all, but it's nicely compiled. Taking my cue from 'The Lost Tapes', it's non chronological and mixes up the various vocalist and instrumental periods of Can.

This is the first of three volumes.

'Upduff's Birth' is the unedited version of 'Mother Upduff from 'Unlimited Edition'. Recorded May 1969.
'Shikako Maru Ten' was the b-side of the 'Spoon' 7", released in 1971.

'Kamasutra' was a 1969 single credited to The Inner Space. From the movie of the same name. 'Im Calcutta' is taken from the same sessions.

'Little Star of Bethlehem' is a 1971 Schloss Norvenich studio recording.

'Turtles Have Short Legs' was a 'Tago Mago' era single from 1971.

'Theif' is the same take as the version on 'Monster Movie', but a longer edit.

'Kamerasong' is the b-side to 'Agilok & Blubbo'. The A-side being the title song of a movie. Recorded in 1968, credited to The Inner Space & Rosy Rosy.


Basho Productions 1983 / Grass Tops Recordings 2016

01 The Golden Medallion
02 Kahlil Gibran
03 The White Swallow
04 The Polish Rider
05 El Cid
06 Lightning Thunder
07 Land of Our Fathers
08 Tears of Teresa
09 Blues from Lebanon
10 The Song of Leila
11 The White Princess

Bonus Tracks:

12 Lightning Thunder - Alternate Take
13 The White Swallow - Solo Vocal
14 Omar Khayyam Country
15 The White Princess - Alternate Take

This is a re-issue of one of my favourite Basho albums and I featured it in my first ever post (way back in June 2012). At the time, I only had a very distorted and wobbly cassette rip.

Grass Tops have been doing a wonderful job in the last couple of years re-issuing these albums. The sound, packaging and extra materials have all been excellent. The care, love and attention obviously coming from real fans. It's a shame to see that legal issues have got in the way of the physical release of their last two Basho projects.

Once it was announced that there was to be no release of this album, it was offered as a free download which has unfortunately also been removed.


01. London Symphony Orchestra - On the Ground, Sleep Sound
02. Lindisfarne - Lady Eleanor
03. Magnet & Paul Giovanni - Willow's Song
04. Boards of Canada - Rue the Whirl
05. Eccentronic Research Council - Another Witch Is Dead
06. Gryphon - The Ploughboy's Dream
07. Julian Cope - Poet Is Priest
08. Paddy Kingsland - The Changes (Suite)
09. Kate Bush - Sat In Your Lap
10. The Free Design - An Elegy
11. Davy Graham - Sunset Eyes
12. Fotheringay - The Sea
13. The Jam - Tales from the Riverbank
14. Meic Stevens - Yorric
15. Cocteau Twins - Oomingmak
16. Focus Group - Salty Sun Tales
17. Comus - Song To Comus