Tuesday 30 May 2023

13th Floor Elevators - Death In Texas (1967 & 1973)


United Artists 2009

01 Introduction/I've Got Levitation
02 Reverberation
03 Don't Fall Down
04 Kingdom Of Heaven
05 She Lives (In A Time Of Her Own)
06 Rock 'N' Roll Jam #1
07 Instrumental Jam #3
08 Baby Blue Jam
09 She Lives Jam
10 Maxine
11 (I've Got) Levitation
12 Shake Your Hips
13 Roky On KAUM Radio '73
14 Stumble/Smoke The Toilet
15 You're Gonna Miss Me '84

Originally released as a bootleg, it came along as the final disc in the mammoth 'Sign Of The Three Eyed Men' 10 disc box set.

Tracks 1-9 recorded 1967 Electric Grandmother Show.
Track 10 Mother Earth 11/2/1973, Austin.
Tracks 11-12 Last Bash On The Hill 19/3/1973, Austin.
Tracks 13-14 La Bastille 1-3/4/1973 Houston.
Track 15 Liberty Lunch 16/6/1984 Austin Texas.

The Byrds - Another Dimension


2005 Sundazed 

01 Eight Miles High
02 Why
03 Ryder (I Know My Rider)
04 John Riley 1
05 2-4-2 Fox Trot (The Lear Jet Song)
06 Psychodrama City
07 John Riley II
08 Wild Mountain Thyme
09 Hey You (Where You Gonna Go)
10 I See You
11 What's Happening!!
12 Captain Soul (30 Minute Break)

A rare official archival release from The Byrds. Originally released as a double 10" album in 2005 on Sundazed, this set contains sessions from the making of 'Fifth Dimension'.

It would be nice to see similar sets for 'Younger Than Yesterday' and 'The Notorious Byrd Brothers'.

The Smiths - Anthology 1


2021 Self made compilation

01 Hand In Glove
02 Handsome Devil (Live)
03 This Charming Man
04 Jeane
05 Accept Yourself
06 Wonderful Woman
07 Reel Around The Fountain
08 You've Got Everything Now
09 Miserable Lie
10 Pretty Girls Make Graves
11 The Hand That Rocks The Cradle
12 Still Ill
13 What Difference Does It Make
14 I Don't Owe You Anything
15 Suffer Little Children
16 These Things Take Time
17 Back To The Old House
18 Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
19 Girl Afraid
20 This Night Has Opened My Eyes

The Smiths discography is as close to perfect as it gets. This 4 disc self made anthology compiles The Smiths recorded output in chronological order. The four discs represent an era with an album at the centre; 'The Smiths', 'Meat Is Murder', 'The Queen Is Dead' and 'Strangeways, Here We Come'.

Tracks 1 and 2 from debut 7" single 'Hand In Glove'.
Tracks 3-6 from the 12" single 'This Charming Man'.
Tracks 7-15 from the debut L.P. 'The Smiths'.
Tracks 16 and 17 from the 12" single 'What Difference Does It Make?'.
Tracks 18 and 19 from the 7" single 'Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now'.
Track 20 released on the L.P. 'Hatful Of Hollow'.

For Andy Rourke.