Sunday 2 September 2018

Taj Mahal Travellers - Live Stockholm July, 1971

Drone Syndicate 2000

01 Live '71, Pt. 1
02 Live '71, Pt. 2

The third and final available album from improvisational drone ensemble Taj Mahal Travellers.

Released a few times throughout the 2000's, this recording pre-dates the two official contemporary TMT albums.

Wonderful abstract drone.

Various Artists - September 2011

01 Dominic Frontiere - The Invaders - Main Title Theme
02 Damon - Don't You Feel Me
03 Gandalf - Can You Travel In The Dark Alone
04 Bread, Love & Dreams - Brother John
05 Flames - Solitude
06 Lula Cortes & Ze Ramalho - Nas Paredes Da Pedra Encantada, Os Segredos Talhados Por Sume
07 Can Am Des Puig - The Cauldron Of Regeneration
08 Mike Tingley - It's Time To Leave Her
09 The Golden Dawn - My Time
10 Michael Yonkers Band - Boy In The Sandbox
11 Fuchsia - Shoes and Ships
12 July - The Way
13 Principal Edward's Magic Theatre - Sacrifice
14 Dominic Frontiere - The Invaders

Another old mixtape. Still holds up well, with a lot of rare psychedelia. 

It pre-dates this blog and along with other early mixtapes, is the inspiration for the start of all this.

Cover star is Soledad Miranda.

Dillard & Clark

Bootleg 1969

01 No Longer a Sweetheart of Mine
02 Why Not Your Baby
03 Wall Around Your Heart
04 Through the Morning, Through the Night
05 So Sad
06 Dark Hollow
07 Kansas City Southern
08 Four Walls
09 Polly
10 Don't Let Me Down

Another fan made Gene Clark album, this time, re-arranging the second and final album from Dillard & Clark.

1968's 'The Fantastic Expedition Of Dillard & Clark' was a classic from start to finsh. A little confusing coming after the psychedelic, beat and baroque 'Gene Clark With The Gosdin Brothers' (clues can be found in unreleased recordings), but collaborating with banjo player Doug Dillard produced a beautiful album of folk, country and bluegrass.

Unfortunately most critics agreed that 1969's follow up 'Through The Morning, Through The Night' was a bit of a come down. More cover versions, less Gene originals and vocals and the introduction of Donna Washburn as a further vocalist all contributed to this.

There is however, some wonderful songs on the released album, as well as some songs that weren't.

I retained 'No Longer a Sweetheart of Mine', 'So Sad', 'Kansas City Southern', 'Four Walls', 'Polly', 'Don't Let Me Down' and the title track from the original album. I added two outtakes from the album sessions; 'Dark Hollow' and 'Wall Around Your Heart'. Finally I included the wonderful non-album single 'Why Not Your Baby'.