Friday, 29 April 2016


The Blue Rose Record Company 1996

01. The Opera House
02. Frosted Ambassador
03. Jumpng Fences
04. Define A Transparent Dream
05. No Growing (Exegesis)
06. Holiday Surprise 1, 2, 3
07. Courtyard
08. Memories Of Jacqueline 1906
09. Tropical Bells
10. Can You Come Down With Us?
11. Marking Time
12. Green Typewriters
13. Green Typewriters
14. Green Typewriters
15. Green Typewriters
16. Green Typewriters
17. Green Typewriters
18. Green Typewriters
19. Green Typewriters
20. Green Typewriters
21. Green Typewriters
22. Spring Succeeds
23. Theme For A Very Delicious Grand Piano
24. I Can Smell The Leaves
25. Dusk At Cubist Castle
26. The Gravity Car
27. NYC -25

I was recently discussing with a friend new posts for this blog. He suggested what we were listening to at that moment. He argued that at 20 years old, it still didn't get the recognition it deserved and was very rarely mentioned.

This really is one of my favourite albums; sunshine pop next to avant garde collage, psych next to field recordings. It's absolutely wonderful.

If you know and love this album, put it on again, if not enjoy, and explore the world of Elephant 6.


01. Plinth - St. Lucia's Day
02. Gravenhurst - Fog Around the Figurehead
03. One More Grain - Northern
04. Hood - Fading Hills
05. Piano Magic - I Am the Sub-Librarian
06. Jade - Fly On Strangewings
07. Spirogyra - Love is a Funny Thing
08. Bibio - Lovers' Carvings
09. Demdike Stare - Eulogy
10. Mordant Music - Another Uncompleted Drone
11. Third Eye Foundation - An Even Harder Shade of Dark
12. Chris Watson - Sumor

Volume Six was curated by Jeremy Bye.


01. Agilok & Blubbo
02. Paperhouse
03. Return
04. Malcolm's Blues
05. I'm So Green
06. Melting Away
07. I'm Hiding My Nightingale
08. Entropy
09. Silent Night

The third and final of my own rare Can compilations.

'Agilok & Blubbo' was the title track of a 1968 film and a 7" single. Credited to The Inner Space.

'Paperhouse' was recorded live for the 'Beat Club' television program.

'Return' was the B-Side of 1977 single 'Don't Say No'

'Malcolm's Blues' and 'Melting Away' are 1968 recordings from SchloB Norevnich.

'I'm So Green' was a 1972 single b/w 'Mushroom'.

'I'm Hiding My Nightingale' was from the 'Kamasutra' soundtrack and the B-Side to the title track for a 7" single in 1969.

'Entropy' was recorded live in Berlin, 1971.

'Silent Night' was a 1976 single.