Friday, 25 June 2021

The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Midnight


Self Made Compilation 2018

01 New Rising Sun
02 Look Over Yonder
03 Midnight
04 Red House
05 Stone Free
06 Calling All the Devil's Children
07 Hear My Train a Comin'
08 Peace in Mississippi

A fictional Hendrix album now. All material presented here was performed by The Jimi Hendrix Experience and recorded after the completion of 'Electric Ladyland' but before sessions for the final (but never completed) album.

Hendrix continued recording after the session for 'Electric Ladyland', but with no real focus in mind.
Shortly after, he would dissolve the Experience and start the funk trio Band Of Gypsys. The material from this interim period wasn't carried over for inclusion on the 'First Rays of the new Rising Sun' / 'Straight Ahead' project.

A lot of the stuff here is strong; loud, fuzzed out jams, with three instrumental tracks included. The 'Band Of Gypsys' album was handed over to the record label as a contractual obligation, this album of completed Experience tracks could of done that. 

Not that I'm complaining about 'Band Of Gypsys', it's wonderful.


Anonymous said...

Anonymous said...

This is a great compilation